Wrath Of the Lich King
Following The Burning Crusade, the second major expansion for World of Warcraft is at works… World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King. Set in the icy land of Northrend, northernmost continent of the world of Azeroth, and the source of the evil Scourge. It is also the home of Icecrown Citadel, the seat of the malevolent Lich King, Arthas Menethil/Ner'zhul.
With the opening of the Dark Portal, and the renewed war to stop the Burning Crusade’s destruction of worlds, the heroes of Azeroth have given little thought to the frozen wastes of Northrend and the terrible, ancient powers that wait there. Yet the brooding evils of the fallen Nerubian Empire and their malevolent sovereign have not forgotten Azeroth...

The former death knight and now Lich King Arthas has set in motion events that could lead to the extinction of all life in Azeroth, as his undead armies and the necromantic power of the plague threaten to sweep across the land. Only the mightiest heroes can survive the frozen northlands with any hope of disrupting the plans of Arthas - and perhaps even challenge the Lich King himself and end his reign of terror for all time.

• New level cap raise to 80, including mighty new powers and talents
• New character class: the necromantic Death Knight Hero Class
• Battle with the Lich King at the Frozen Throne
• New continent: Northrend, the icy domain of the Lich King
• New profession: Inscription
• Epic siege warfare and destructible buildings for Player vs. Player
• New character-customization options, including new hairstyles and dances

Subsequent features include:
• Achievements for both the expansion and existing content
• New Mount, Vanity Pet and Token Storage
• Built-in threat meter
• New Calendar feature
• Ability to link professions via chat

WoW 101:
Azeroth is the name of the world in which the majority of the Warcraft series is set.
Scourge is one of the two undead factions (the other being the Forsaken), and a major player for control of the world of Azeroth. It’s also a vast army of the dead created by Lich King.
Lich King was an entity created by Kil’jaeden the Deceiver from the spirit of orcish shaman Ner’zhul. Initially trapped within the Frozen Throne, the Lich King eventually merged with the human Arthas Menethil. He’s the main antagonist in the upcoming expansion. Arthas Menethil, Crown Prince of Lordaeron and Knight of the Silver Hand, was the son of King Terenas Menethil II and heir to the throne. He was trained as a paladin, but despite his promising beginning, he became one of the most powerful and evil beings of Azeroth would experience when he merged with the Lich King.
The Nerubians are an ancient race of intelligent arachnoids native to Northrend within the kingdom of Azjol-Nerub. Hero Classes will consist of classes from Warcraft III that were too strong to play from level one or could not fit a primary class role. The Death Knight is the first Hero class for World of Warcraft. This class will not be accessible using normal character creation. Instead, once a player has a level 55 character, they will be able to create one Death Knight character per realm, which will begin at level 55 with a full arsenal of spells.
Inscription profession allows players to augment the power of their spells by increasing damage, reducing cooldowns or adding other effect, as well as new kinds of items.

Beta test for WotLK has begun last July 17, 2008 and players are keeping their fingers crossed that they get to see the new expansion before the year ends.